Commissioners keep their salaries the same

Sarpy County

Commissioners keep their salaries the same

December 05, 2017

Calling their jobs “a public service,” the Sarpy County Board of Commissioners on Tuesday voted to keep their salaries the same.

The vote set the Commissioners’ salaries at $26,095 for 2019-2020. The Board Chair will continue to receive an additional $1,000.

“When you look at the total compensation package, which includes benefits, we are very well compensated at our current salary,” Chairman Don Kelly said. “Other counties are raising salaries, but we’re proud not to follow their lead.”

Commissioners chose to forego raising their own salaries despite a recommendation from the Sarpy County Elected Officials Salary Review Committee that included a 15.01% increase in base salary.

The Board created the committee to review the salaries of all Sarpy County elected officials, to compare those salaries with similarly situated counties across the Midwest, and to make recommendations for appropriate salaries given the offices’ duties and the employment market in the area while keeping in mind the best-interest of Sarpy County taxpayers.

The Committee met four times and presented their final recommendations to Commissioners.

The Board on Tuesday also set the salaries for the seven other elected county officials for the next four years, again starting in 2019.

Commissioners approved a 3% increase in base salary for 2019 with the addition of a 1% increase for the final three years of the term for the County Assessor, Clerk of the District Court, County Engineer, County Treasurer, Sheriff and County Attorney. The salary committee had recommended a 3.22% increase for each of those offices.

The salary committee also recommended a 3.22% increase for the County Clerk. However, Commissioners felt the additional responsibilities that will be added when the Clerk’s Office assumes the duties of the Register of Deeds warranted an additional increase in base salary to $110,890 for 2019. The Clerk also will receive a 1% increase for the final three years of the term.

Approved Elected Officials Salaries for 2019:

  • County Assessor: $101,346
  • County Attorney: $158,386
  • County Clerk: $110,890
  • Clerk of the District Court: $97,100
  • County Engineer: $120,978
  • Sheriff: $132,651
  • County Treasurer: $100,285
  • County Commissioner: $26,095
  • Chair of the Board Commissioners: $27,095

When making their final recommendations, the salary committee used salary data from Lancaster County, Nebraska; Greene County, Missouri; Johnson County, Iowa; Linn County, Iowa; and Minnehaha County, South Dakota.

The committee was composed of six members of the public appointed by the board, two elected officials and three members of the Sarpy County Administration.

Appointed members included Angie Lauritsen, Jonathan Davidson, Michael George, Rich Severson, Rita Ramirez and Robert Anthony Sr. Sheriff Jeff Davis and County Commissioner Jim Thompson represented the elected officials as ex-officio members of the committee.