Kelly, Warren selected to lead Board

Sarpy County

Kelly, Warren selected to lead Board

January 08, 2019
Don Kelly, Jim Warren elected Chair and Vice Chair of Sarpy County Board of Commissioners
Commissioners Don Kelly (left) and Jim Warren

Touting the need for experienced leadership, Sarpy County Commissioners today elected Don Kelly to serve a fourth consecutive term as Chair of the Sarpy County Board.

Kelly represents District 1, which covers the southeast corner of the county. He was first elected to the board in 2013. His current term expires in December 2020.

“This year is going to be critical to the future of Sarpy County, and we’re on the precipice of a number of important decisions.” Kelly said. “Our major initiatives for 2019 include financing and construction of the Southern Sarpy Wastewater System; addressing the need for a new jail; developing partnerships to provide better, more comprehensive mental health services; and investing significant resources on our arterial roads and infrastructure projects that will support continued growth and economic development.”

Commissioners also re-elected Jim Warren to serve as Vice Chair, a position he has held since 2017. Warren represents District 5 in western Sarpy County.

Other actions taken by the Board

  • Approved an agreement with E&A Consulting Group for professional services related to improvements on Giles Road from 192nd Street and Highway 6.
  • Accepted a Justice Assistance Grant for the Mental Health Case Management program, which assists mentally ill persons involved in the criminal justice system by providing services designed to help them establish independent living skills, manage their mental illness and reduce future contacts with the criminal justice system.