Selection Committee to interview candidates for open County Board seat

Sarpy County

Selection Committee to interview candidates for open County Board seat

January 23, 2019

Fourteen Sarpy County residents applied to fill the open District 3 seat on the Sarpy County Board of Commissioners. District 3 represents the northeast corner of Sarpy County, including much of the city of Bellevue. (View District Map)

The seat became vacant when Brian Zuger resigned on Jan. 2 to assume the position of Sarpy County Treasurer. He was elected to the new position in November. 

Per state statute, County Attorney Lee Polikov, County Clerk Deb Houghtaling and County Treasurer Zuger will serve as the selection committee to choose the new Commissioner. 

The committee will interview candidates on Friday, Jan. 25, in the Sarpy County Boardroom in the Sarpy County Courthouse. The session is open to the public.

Each candidate will be given five minutes to make a statement about their qualifications and why they want to serve, followed by up to 10 minutes of questions posed by the selection committee. 

Following the interviews, the committee will meet in a closed session to discuss the candidates. They will then return to regular session to make their final votes.

The schedule for the interviews on Jan. 25 is as follows:

  • 10:30 a.m. – Angela Burmeister
  • 10:45 a.m. – Christopher Filkins
  • 11 a.m. – Charles Fredrick
  • 11:15 a.m. – CoreyAlan Hannan
  • 11:30 a.m. – John Hansen
  • 11:45 a.m. – Rick Harrison
  • Noon – Lunch break
  • 1 p.m. – Kim Hawley
  • 1:15 p.m. – Brian Horn
  • 1:30 p.m. – John Jungers
  • 1:45 p.m. – Kevin Molczyk
  • 2 p.m. – Jim Moudry
  • 2:15 p.m. Todd Santoro
  • 2:30 p.m. Joseph Michael Shafer
  • 2:45 p.m. Steve Knutson (unable to attend)