CHANGES TO VEHICLE INSPECTION PROCESS
In an effort to help slow the spread of COVID-19, the Sarpy County Sheriff's Office has made changes to the vehicle titling process.
Please call the Title Inspection Office between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday-Friday to set up an appointment: 402-593-2328 or 402-593-2329
When you arrive at the courthouse for your appointment, call the number you used to set up the appointment to let the inspector know you have arrived. You will be asked to leave your vehicle running, exit the vehicle and leave the driver's door open. Please stand at the rear of your vehicle to wait for the inspector. The inspector will conduct the inspection, collect the $10 fee and the titling paperwork needed to register the vehicle. You will be asked to sign the title paperwork.
You will then need to contact the Treasurer's Office to process the registration. You can reach them at [email protected] or by calling 402-593-2148; or you can set up an appointment to do this in person.
NOTE: If you need to register a vehicle with an out-of-state or salvage title, you must complete a VIN inspection before you make an appointment with the Treasurer's Office to register the vehicle.
Please call 402-593-2328 or 402-593-2329 to set up on an inspection appointment at the dealership. Title inspectors will inspect up to 15 vehicles per visit. Please park all vehicles side by side on the dealership property. Each vehicle will need to be be running with the driver's door open. All of the required paperwork needs to be on the front seat. One dealeship employee needs to be present to provide payment to the inspector when all of the inspections are complete.
1210 Golden Gate Dr
Papillion, NE 68046
Office is open to the public
8:00 a.m. - 4:45 p.m.
8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
The Vehicle Inspection Office is located in the Administration Addition, see Courthouse Campus Map. Parking spots are designated for Vehicle Inspection and Driver Testing, vehicles must be parked there for inspection or Driver Testing. You should arrive at the inspection office 1/2 hour prior to closing to ensure you have time to complete your transactions.
Since August of 1983, legislation has mandated that all vehicles brought into Nebraska with a title from another state, be inspected by the sheriff of any county in the state. This was done to ensure that title laundering, stolen vehicles, vehicles with stolen parts, or vehicles with odometers that had been tampered with could not obtain a Nebraska title. The law has been very effective in addressing these issues.
The inspection, which takes about 15 minutes, consists of an inspection of the VIN plate, manufacturer's federal sticker, odometer reading, and the title itself with supporting documentation (Nebraska sales tax form, power of attorney, bill of sale, estate papers, affidavits of repossession, etc.). Salvage vehicles must be completely repaired. The inspections for the general public are completed at the Vehicle Inspection office. For an inspection you must bring the vehicle, the title, and the $10.00 fee (cash or check from a local bank) to the Vehicle Inspection office. Persons having a lien or lease on their vehicle must contact their clerk/treasurer. They must obtain the title from the leinholder or financial institution. The clerk/treasurer will then make a notarized copy for inspection purposes.
The inspectors are specifically trained to detect inconsistencies between the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) as it is stamped on the vehicle and what has been put on the title. If an inspector finds what appears to be an altered VIN, the inspector will then conduct a more extensive investigation, checking other areas on the vehicle for the VIN. Vehicle manufacturers stamp the VIN on various "hidden" parts of a vehicle to assist in tracking thefts.
The Vehicle Inspection Office also inspects vehicles on-site at the various auto retailers. Auto retailers may arrange for these on-site inspections by contacting the Vehicle Inspection Office for an appointment. Auto retailers requesting an on-site inspection must have at least three vehicles to be inspected during the appointment and are assessed an additional $4.00 per inspected vehicle.